Learning and Development

Learning and Development

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2017 gives professionals a set of guidelines for delivering quality early education and childcare for children up to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, pre-schools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The areas of learning and development

There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. It is important that a child develops in these prime areas as a base before they can begin to develop in the specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

The four specific areas are: