Learning and Development

Learning and Development

The Department for Education: Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (effective from 4th September 2023), sets out the standard requirements for delivering quality early education and childcare for all children, from birth to five years old.

Please refer to the 'learning and development requirements', section 1.  

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, pre-schools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The three prime areas are:

The four specific areas are:

Useful links

Department for Education: Statutory framework for early years foundation stage 
Mandatory for all early years providers in England from 4th September 2023. 

Early Years Coalition: Birth to 5 Matters 
Developed by the sector, for the sector, provides non-statutiory guidance on the EYFS,

Department for Education: Development Matters 
document is a non-statutory curriculum guide for the EYFS.