Learning and Development

Learning and Development

The Department for Education: Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (effective from 1st September 2021), sets out the standard requirements for delivering quality early education and childcare for all children, from birth to five years old.

Please refer to the 'learning and development requirements', section 1.1 and the 'areas of learning and development', section 1.3 - 1.5.  

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, pre-schools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The areas of learning and development

There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are equally important and inter-connect.

Three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

For more information around each of these areas of learning follow the links to each page below.

The three prime areas are:

The four specific areas are:

Bolton Start Well Service

Professionals within the Start Well Service work flexible in response to your needs across the areas of the EYFS. So, whether you are looking for advice, consultancy, support and challenge or training to enable your early years workforce to be skilled in teaching, monitoring and assessing children's developmental and learning needs, look no further - we can help.

We provide professional development services for the early years workforce, to train and upskill practitioners to effectively support children’s development across the EYFS. You can check out the variety of professional development opportunities and training available in the courses section of the website.

Contact details

Early Years Communication and Language Development Service (EYCLDS)
Healthy Families (0-19 service)
Oxford Grove Start Well Centre
Sherpherd Cross Street
Bolton BL1 3BY
Tel: 01204 33 8349/8182
General emails: StartWell@bolton.gov.uk 
Please email referrals to: Paedcommtherapyreferrals@boltonft.nhs.uk



Department for Education: Statutory framework for early years foundation stage (EYFS) September 2021
This framework is mandatory for all early years providers in England from 1 September 2021. 

The Early Years Coalition: Birth to 5 Matters (non-statutory guidance)
Non-statutory guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage.  Guidance by the sector, for the sector.

Department for Education: Development Matters (non-statutory guidance)
Non-statutory curriculum guidance for the early years foundation stage.