Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements

The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements are designed to help providers create high quality settings that are welcoming, safe and stimulating, and where children are able to enjoy learning and grow in confidence.

Providers must take all necessary steps to keep children safe and well. The requirements explain what early years providers must do to

  • safeguard children;
  • ensure the suitability of adults who have contact with children;
  • promote good health;
  • manage behaviour;
  • maintain records, policies and procedures.

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) includes a requirement that to count in the staff child ratios at Level 3, staff who hold an Early Years Educator qualification must also hold a Level 2 English and mathematics qualification.

The EYFS also includes the new paediatric first aid (PFA) training requirement that all newly qualified entrants to the early years workforce with a Level 2 or 3 qualification must also have either a full or emergency PFA certificate within 3 months of starting work.

Find out more about the EYFS (2017) in the downloads section below.

Visit the Bolton Safeguarding Board website


Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (EYFS) 2017
The standards that school and childcare providers must meet for the learning, development and care of children under 5.

Education inspection framework (EIF) 2019
This framework sets out Ofsted’s inspection principles and the main judgements that inspectors make.  It applied from September 2019.

Inspecting safeguarding in early years education and skills settings (2019)
Guidance for Ofsted inspectors to use when inspecting safeguarding under the common inspection framework.

Early years inspection handbook (EIF) 2019
Ofsted guidance on inspecting registered early years and childcare providers under the education inspection framework, for use from September 2019.

Bolton Documentation Overview
Guidance on the safeguarding documentation that must/should be in place in settings.

The Bolton Framework for Action and Early Help Framework
The Framework for Action and Early Help Framework, formerly known as the Common Assessment Framework (CAF), are tools to support and guide people that work with children and families.