Home Resources

Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements

Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements

The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements are designed to help providers create high quality settings that are welcoming, safe and stimulating, and where children are able to enjoy learning and grow in confidence.

Providers must take all necessary steps to keep children safe and well. The requirements explain what early years providers must do to

  • safeguard children;
  • ensure the suitability of adults who have contact with children;
  • promote good health;
  • manage behaviour;
  • maintain records, policies and procedures.

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) includes a requirement that to count in the staff child ratios at Level 3, staff who hold an Early Years Educator qualification must also hold a Level 2 English and mathematics qualification.

The EYFS also includes the new paediatric first aid (PFA) training requirement that all newly qualified entrants to the early years workforce with a Level 2 or 3 qualification must also have either a full or emergency PFA certificate within 3 months of starting work.

Find out more about the EYFS (2017) in the downloads section below.


Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (EYFS) 2017
The standards that school and childcare providers must meet for the learning, development and care of children under 5.

The Common Inspection Framework
The framework sets out how Ofsted inspects maintained schools and academies, non-association independent schools, further education provision and registered early years settings in England.

Inspecting safeguarding in Early Years education and skills settings
Guidance for inspectors undertaking inspection under the Common Inspection Framework.

Early Years Inspection Handbook
Handbook for inspecting early years in England under sections 49 and 50 of the Childcare Act 2006.

Bolton Documentation Overview
Guidance on the safeguarding documentation that must/should be in place in settings.

The Bolton Framework for Action and Early Help Framework
The Framework for Action and Early Help Framework, formerly known as the Common Assessment Framework (CAF), are tools to support and guide people that work with children and families.